TESTIMONIALS

    5 star review  I worked alongside Karen recently at birth that I photographed and Karen was the private doula. I was so impressed with Karens professionalism and manner but more importantly her calm and gentle nature throughout the entire labour and birth. The way she respected and supported the birthing mum (and dad!) was so beautiful. I believe Karen played a significant role in the mum achieving a positive, peaceful and calm birth - one where she felt empowered and informed which ultimately led to her achieving the birth she had hoped for. It was a joy to watch this birth story unfold and to see the significance of a doulas’ role as part of the birth support team. Karens knowledge of birth and established relationship with the midwives and Obstratician at the hospital was excellent. Karen would be an asset to any birth!

    Ashleigh Plimmer Avatar Ashleigh Plimmer
    February 28, 2018

    positive review  Karen is such an expert and I couldn’t recommend her more. My partner and I learnt so much after an antenatal class with her and she went above and beyond to meet our personal concerns and needs. She has made me view the whole process in such a positive way (as I’m terrified of birth) and so happy we chose to attend her course!

    Nicole Lekatsa Avatar Nicole Lekatsa
    May 2, 2019

    5 star review  It is my absolute pleasure to provide the following review for Karen who acted as our Doula in Jan-March 2018 in the final stages of our fourth pregnancy. I decided very early on that I would look to engage a Doula to provide emotional support for myself and husband for the birth of our baby. From past experiences, and the long term emotional effects of giving birth in the hospital setting, I was sure that from my experience and research that having a Doula would be an invaluable asset for our team. Enter Karen Scanlan... Experienced midwife with extensive knowledge of the birth process and hospital system, a caring, gentle soul and a passionate women who brought a smile to my face the first time we spoke by phone. Many phone calls, text messages and coffee catch ups to debrief doctors appointments later, Karen provided us with balanced information to allow us to make decisions that were in our best interests. Karen was consistent with her advice, and her reassurance and encouragement was always respectful. On those days when it all seemed too hard, Karen was only a call away. Or a text message. She always reminded me that I could reach her any time of the day or night. I specifically engaged Karen to help us through a VBAC (vaginal birth after Caesarian). As it turned out, in the final week of pregnancy we opted for a c-section. This was a really tough decision to make, one which I was able to come to terms with having spoken to Karen at length about, having considered my circumstances, preferences and needs of my whole family. I was really looking forward to meeting Karen at the doors of the hospital late at night, wheelchair ready, and proceeding to the birthing unit. I had played that out in my mind many times. Although that wasn’t to be, I did get to see her again after the birth of our baby, when recovering in my room. It was fantastic to see her smiling face and feel her reassuring hand again on my arm as we debriefed the Caesarian birth. Having met Karen, and had the benefit of her support and care during pregnancy, has allowed me to feel satisfied with my final birth and to sit calmly and write this review, breastfeeding our daughter and juggling the phone as I nurse her. Doula support is invaluable. Well beyond the birth, the emotional support and encouragement will keep you in good stead for what follows in the journey of motherhood. Thank you Karen. I hope our paths cross again some day soon. Kasie, Matthew, Thomas, Elizabeth, Hannah and Amelia.

    Kasie Maher-Standen Avatar Kasie Maher-Standen
    March 17, 2018

    5 star review  Absolutely brilliant class. Karen is simply amazing. So reassuring and informative. Makes you feel like no question is a stupid one!

    Bel Verga Avatar Bel Verga
    February 19, 2018

    5 star review  Karen's teaching methods made me feel very confident and calm before my labour. I felt completely prepared for anything that would happen. Her ongoing support after my daughter's birth and the people she has been able to put me in contact with has been invaluable! I would highly recommend any pregnant Mummas book it to Karen's classes.

    Mandy McQuade Avatar Mandy McQuade
    January 7, 2016

    5 star review  My husband and I had been recommended Karen's class through a number of different friends. We attended the private hypnobirth intensive day course today and it was the most engaging and empowering experience in preparation for the birth of our first baby. Karen has an enormous knowledge base, has a calm/welcoming nature is an excellent mentor and educator. She has helped us to feel so positive and empowered leading into our birth and we left today feeling very content with the knowledge, tools and skills for our upcoming birth. I hope other pregnant women and their partners are able to experience the incredible wisdom of Karen for their birth too and to feel as inspired and empowered as I do.

    Alyce Barnes Avatar Alyce Barnes
    April 17, 2016

    5 star review  My husband and I just attended a private antenatal class. Karen made us feel empowered to make informed choices and decisions during labor and after. We were both a bit apprehensive about finding out all the information just thinking we would be overwhelmed but Karen made us feel so comfortable and relaxed about the whole experience. Thanks to Karen we are now feel equipped with the knowledge and strategies for the weeks leading up to, having our baby and post natal care. The location at the lake is lovely and Karen was very accommodating with a delicious morning tea and yummy snacks. Thank you, Karen.

    Jessie Nash Avatar Jessie Nash
    August 20, 2017

    positive review  My husband and I did the private intensive antenatal/postnatal course with Karen today. As first time parents, we couldn’t recommend Karen any more highly. She was so informative and made the whole day very enjoyable. We now feel so much more prepared and at ease with what’s to come. Thanks so much Karen for an amazing day - good to know we can come to you with any questions and will recommend you to everyone.

    Sarah Dann Avatar Sarah Dann
    December 13, 2018

    5 star review  Yesterday I completed a one day anti natal course with Karen. She has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to child birth. I loved her holistic approach and open, personable manner. Cannot recommend her enough. Thank you Karen

    Katie McBride Avatar Katie McBride
    November 5, 2016