TESTIMONIALS

    5 star review  Very easy to learn from such an energetic happy teacher.

    Matt Lerch Avatar Matt Lerch
    August 14, 2015

    5 star review  Karen was so accommodating to work around our schedules to offer private antenatal and hypobirthing classes. Attending both of these made us feel relaxed, calm and EXCITED about going through the birthing process and beyond. We BOTH feel that we now have some wonderful tools to help support a positive birthing experience. Although we haven't had our baby yet, I personally feel that one of the best aspects of hypnobirthing is the partners involvement, empowering them to have a very important role - during the lead up to birth, and on the day (not just sit in the corner not knowing what to do or say)! Again, we haven't become parents yet...but additionally, I feel that Karen's knowledge, experience and nurturing nature enourages the right head space for becoming new parents. A head space that allows you to understand what a baby really needs, accept this, and respond appropriately - this is so important in a world where there appears to be so many pressures for babies to 'sleep through,' and follow certain (and perhaps unrealistic) routines. We cannot recommend Karen's classes enough. Karen, your passion and nurturing approach is just wonderful. THANK YOU!

    Kerryn Boogaard Avatar Kerryn Boogaard
    July 14, 2017

    positive review  I did Karen’s Hypnobirthing course and it was on of the best things I did. Karen was so informative and I had a great day completing the course. I would highly reccomend.

    Georgah Pogson Avatar Georgah Pogson
    December 13, 2018

    5 star review  It is my absolute pleasure to provide the following review for Karen who acted as our Doula in Jan-March 2018 in the final stages of our fourth pregnancy. I decided very early on that I would look to engage a Doula to provide emotional support for myself and husband for the birth of our baby. From past experiences, and the long term emotional effects of giving birth in the hospital setting, I was sure that from my experience and research that having a Doula would be an invaluable asset for our team. Enter Karen Scanlan... Experienced midwife with extensive knowledge of the birth process and hospital system, a caring, gentle soul and a passionate women who brought a smile to my face the first time we spoke by phone. Many phone calls, text messages and coffee catch ups to debrief doctors appointments later, Karen provided us with balanced information to allow us to make decisions that were in our best interests. Karen was consistent with her advice, and her reassurance and encouragement was always respectful. On those days when it all seemed too hard, Karen was only a call away. Or a text message. She always reminded me that I could reach her any time of the day or night. I specifically engaged Karen to help us through a VBAC (vaginal birth after Caesarian). As it turned out, in the final week of pregnancy we opted for a c-section. This was a really tough decision to make, one which I was able to come to terms with having spoken to Karen at length about, having considered my circumstances, preferences and needs of my whole family. I was really looking forward to meeting Karen at the doors of the hospital late at night, wheelchair ready, and proceeding to the birthing unit. I had played that out in my mind many times. Although that wasn’t to be, I did get to see her again after the birth of our baby, when recovering in my room. It was fantastic to see her smiling face and feel her reassuring hand again on my arm as we debriefed the Caesarian birth. Having met Karen, and had the benefit of her support and care during pregnancy, has allowed me to feel satisfied with my final birth and to sit calmly and write this review, breastfeeding our daughter and juggling the phone as I nurse her. Doula support is invaluable. Well beyond the birth, the emotional support and encouragement will keep you in good stead for what follows in the journey of motherhood. Thank you Karen. I hope our paths cross again some day soon. Kasie, Matthew, Thomas, Elizabeth, Hannah and Amelia.

    Kasie Maher-Standen Avatar Kasie Maher-Standen
    March 17, 2018

    positive review  After our first session with Karen, I left feeling like a weight had been lifted. My fears had been replaced with this sense of ease and power. As a first-time mum, I cannot recommend Karen highly enough. The course is a mix of information about birthing itself (it’s shocking how little we are really taught!) coupled with techniques for a calm experience. Above all else, my husband and I are stronger than ever for completing this course together. He will be an amazing support and advocate for me when I will be at my most vulnerable. I’m looking forward to embracing my birth experience and enjoying the reduced stress and anxiety as the countdown to baby’s arrival gets closer.

    Shanelle Heitmeyer Avatar Shanelle Heitmeyer
    April 17, 2019

    5 star review  Karen is worth her weight in gold! We did hypnobirthing classes with Karen and also had her support us as a doula through our daughter’s birth and she helped us have a really beautiful and positive birth. The hypnobirthing classes were fantastic and well worth our time. We learned so much and Karen made it a lovely, relaxed learning environment. We also really liked that she shared from her many years of experience as a midwife and a doula. We were so glad to also have Karen as part of our “baby team” as our doula. She helped us to use many of the techniques we learned during the hypnobirthing class but we mostly just loved having her calming presence in the room during the birth. Having such an experienced, nurturing and relaxed person in the room meant that my husband felt empowered to be as involved as possible and I felt confident and relaxed in my body’s ability to birth our baby. Karen also took some photos for us during the birth which capture so many precious moments. Aside from Karen’s presence on the birthing day, we also really appreciated her antenatal support. Nothing was ever too much trouble and she helped us feel comfortable about our baby’s induction (which we were feeling nervous about). Karen and the hypnobirthing classes were instrumental in us having the beautiful and positive birth that we hoped for. Highly recommended!

    Marissa Be Avatar Marissa Be
    June 8, 2018

    5 star review  I had a calm birthing class with Karen before my first baby was born. I left feeling happy, excited, empowered, calm and in control. It was very important to me to be in a good frame of mind about the birthing process as I can become panicky quite quickly, and didn't want that to happen on the day. I am so grateful that I had a beautiful, calm and wonderful experience (without any panic!). My beautiful girl was born quickly and safely and will forever remain one of the best days of my life. Thank you Karen xx

    Amy Sharp Avatar Amy Sharp
    March 29, 2015

    5 star review  I wish words could explain how grateful we are to of met this wonderful women, after my first child I was so fearful of labour & thanks to Karen we had the most incredible birth ever.. I knew exactly what my body was doing & could enjoy it so much more.. My husband was so hands on aswell after hearing what his roll is in being apart of birth & it was so special for us both.. I walked away feeling so empowered & have been blessed with such a calm happy baby which I believe is from this! Xx

    Claire Denison Avatar Claire Denison
    May 16, 2016

    5 star review  we had such a great experience with Karen last week at our private hypnobirthing class. We are getting ready for our second baby to join us. Learning techniques to bring our baby into this world in a much carmer way using breathing techniques, visualizations, music, smells and touch is such a relaxing way to prepare for the labour. Karen was able to taylour the program our specific needs and concerns. looking forward to the big day more than ever now.

    Katie Louise Bates Avatar Katie Louise Bates
    August 20, 2017